Bring it on Brits – Raphael Warner

12 Aug

To continue with our inspirational interviews we have one of our judges today. Raphael Warner is in charge of all things creative over at Diagonal View. If you haven’t heard of Diagonal View, then you should check them out, because they are curators of all things weird and wonderful, with an extensive video library of extreme sports and hobbies from around the globe. Who knows, you might find your next hobby there! Here Rapahel catches up with us to let us know what his inspiration is and what gets him out of bed every morning.

1. What personal characteristics do you think have helped you get to where you are now?

I like to live life for the moment. I think life is way too short not to enjoy things in the here and now. I am the type of person who is constantly trying to remind myself to stop lingering on past mistakes or fantasising about the future, work hard on the things right in front of you and everything will fall into place.

2. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I am way too impatient. I always want things done yesterday and absolutely hate waiting around, if it can’t be done quickly it’s not worth doing!

3. What was your childhood dream job?

I wanted to be a footballer when I was a kid. Would I swap my job now for a highly lucrative contract at Arsenal? Probably, but all the recent baggage and negative publicity associated with England’s top players has made me think again about the merits of a premiership existence.

4. When did you work out what you really wanted to do with your life?

I started out life in banking but quickly realized that my most creative decision was made at lunchtime choosing what type of sandwich I would have, hence my decision to move into the media and a more fulfilling life mixing it with wonderfully creative individuals.

5. What three things do you wish you had known before you started out?

1.  The world is your oyster, think big, think global!

2.  Mistakes are good (as long as you learn from them!)

3.  The importance of smiling and listening.

6. What gets you out of bed every morning?

Espresso and a desire to be the best I can be

7. If you had a personal motto, what would it be?

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift that’s why it’s called the present

8. If you could give one piece of advice to someone trying to be successful what would it be?

Surround yourself with talent.

9. What one word do you think best embodies the bring it on spirit?

That’s a tough one…. I like the word awesome, so Awesome!

Leave a Reply

