Bring it on Brits: Kat Williams

28 Jul

There are a few people out there who we think have a fantastic Bring it On spirit. We thought we would interview some of them to give you guys a bit of inspiration to help you achieve your goals. The first one is from rock chick and wedding blogger, Kat Williams.

Photograph by Eliza Claire

Kat Williams launched Rock ‘n Roll Bride in October 2007 as a blog for her own wedding. The blog is now the sanctuary of individuality in a “cookie cutter, pastel pink, poufy dressed wedding world.”

Rock ‘n Roll Bride was  in BrideTide’s Top 100 blogs to watch in 2010 and won the Best Style Blog category of the 2010 The Bridal Blog Awards hosted by The Wedding Channel and The Knot.

We caught up with Kat to find out more about her passion for weddings with a difference.

What personal characteristics do you think have helped you get where you are now?

I’m a complete obsessive! I went whole-hearted into planning and researching ideas for my wedding and when it was over I knew this was what I wanted to do. I also love photography and writing, so being able to combine the two into a job is perfect for me. And finally, I never liked the idea of working for someone else. Being my own boss is great because I’m not so good at being told what to do!

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

Wow – deep…I guess I sometimes wish I could let go and allow myself a day off (or mainly it is my husband who wishes for this more!) Again we are going back to the obsessive/perfectionist thing. However being this way is what made me a success.

What was your childhood dream job?

I didn’t ever really have a ‘dream job’. I went  through phases – teacher, author, singer (I couldn’t sing). I wanted my own sweet shop at one point too.

When did you work out what you really wanted to do with your life?

About a year ago. It was after we got married and the blog started getting popular.

What three things do you wish you had known before you started out?

1.    There are a hell of a lot of good people in the wedding industry but there are many people who will use you for what they can get and stab you in the back.

2.    You can’t do this job as a 9-5. I work at least 12 hours a day, 7 days a week.

3.    You can never get to a happy level with this job. I’m constantly thinking of ideas and ways to stay ahead of everyone else and be innovative.

What gets you out of bed every morning?

My cats jumping around the bed – I sleep late. I’d rather stay up til 2 in the morning working and then sleep til noon.

If you had a personal motto, what would it be?

‘Fortune favours the brave’. I’m getting it tattooed soon. Someone said that to me once when I was having a mini freak-out about something scary I had to go and do. I did it and it turned out great and opened some amazing new doors for me. Bravery pays off!

If you could give one piece of advice to someone trying to be successful what would it be?

Be unique. Be individual. Be yourself. Don’t copy anyone else’s style of ideas – copycats never make it. Know who you are and be proud of it. I’m popular because I speak my mind and stay true to who I am. Who are you? What makes you fab? Be that!

What one word do you think best embodies the bring it on spirit?

ROCKNROLL!

www.rocknrollbride.com

Rock ‘n Roll Bride Twitter

Rock ‘n Roll Bride Facebook

Photograph by Emma Case Photography

Share

Share on Facebook

One Response to “Bring it on Brits: Kat Williams”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Bring it on Brits: Kat Williams « -- Topsy.com - July 28, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Catherine Pryce, Kat Williams, Lydia Mossahebi, mrtomasz, Bring It On Britain and others. Bring It On Britain said: Bring it on Brits: Kat Williams: There are a few people out there who we think have a fantastic Bring it On spirit… http://bit.ly/cBY0Rg […]

Leave a Reply

